Студия для отдыха в Майами-Бич с прекрасным видом на город и канал

  • 400 Sqft.
  • bedrooms Студия
  • 3 Кровати
  • 1 ванной

Апартаменты Lester:
В этой уютной студии проката есть все необходимое для отдыха на пляже. Расположен в центре Майами-Бич, с выходом на пляж. С бесплатным Wi-Fi и услуга парковки включены в цену. 

Ваша квартира для аренды в Майами-Бич будет иметь:
- кондиционер
- Высокоскоростной WIFI, бесплатный интернет. Частный интернет (без ограничений).
- кровать размера "queen-size" с постельным бельем
- Удобное рабочее место для ноутбука
- свежие банные полотенца, свежие полотенца для рук и мочалки
- пляжные полотенца, шезлонги, пляжный зонтик и снаряжение для снорклинга
- 55-дюймовый телевизор
- Раскладная двуспальная кровать
- Основная мини-кухня с барной раковиной, холодильником, морозильной камерой и микроволновой печью
- электрический чайник и тостер
- Заезд 24/7
- Вешалки, утюг, гладильная доска и фен
- Детская кроватка предоставляется по запросу


Вы будете иметь полный доступ к зданию, которое включает в себя:
- Бесплатная парковка машин для одного автомобиля на квартиру
- Платный пляжный сервис 30 долларов в день за 2 стула и зонтик с многодневными скидками
- бесплатное посещение тренажерного зала и теннисного корта
- Бесплатный доступ к бассейну (Мы с сожалением сообщаем вам, что в связи с аварийным ремонтом бассейн будет закрыт с 1 июля) (шезлонги)
- Бесплатный и прямой доступ к пляжу
- 24 часовая охрана здания
- Тики бар у бассейна с разумными ценами
- Возможность получать посылки до прибытия (пожалуйста, напишите нам для получения инструкций после подтверждения бронирования)
- Покупки в нижнем лобби: турецкая баня, магазин, туристическая информация и ресторан на месте


Майами-Бич имеет множество исторических зданий и достопримечательностей, многие из которых являются бесплатными или дешевыми. Великолепные музеи, концертные залы, художественные галереи, открытые культурные районы.
В Майами-Бич также есть великолепные пляжи и оживленная ночная жизнь.


Правила пользования плавательными бассейнами в зданиях
Социальное дистанцирование, как и на пляжах, должно быть сохранено, например, расстояние в 2 метра для всех, кроме членов одной семьи. И никаких групп больше 10 человек. Разметка на полах должна помогать ориентировать людей на правильное социальное дистанцирование (2 метра), в том числе и в туалетах.

Отзывы клиентов

Maria
2022-05-23T17:01:28-04:00

Deshawn
2021-10-07T22:20:11-04:00

Carlos
2021-09-14T20:11:47-04:00

Jassmina
2021-08-14T22:37:27-04:00

Buena ubicación, instalaciones en buen estado. Si regresaría a hospedarme

Adriana
2021-06-27T17:52:58-04:00

Es un buen sitio para compartir en familia, muy buena atención

Monica
2021-06-17T17:07:48-04:00

Very comfortable experience

Marie
2021-03-12T21:26:44-05:00

Evelyn
2019-12-04T20:58:31-05:00

Dawn
2022-02-05T18:40:41-05:00

Great location, great views from the 12th floor, the staff was great. Only thing that was disappointing was the bed, was an old spring mattress that was extremely uncomfortable as the springs would poke you everytime you moved. Recommend getting new mattresses. Other that that everything awesome!!

Luis
2022-01-21T20:23:21-05:00

Racquel
2020-02-24T01:44:26-05:00

Jannette
2022-02-22T07:59:27-05:00

Devén contratar empleados más amables en la recepción…

Gonzalo
2021-12-04T18:15:38-05:00

Room was good but the staff at the hotel was shady. Thug looking security guards we checked in with. We left a phone in the lobby and know it was turned in to security but they claimed it was not turned in. Won’t stay there or recommend due to the staff and how unprofessional they are and look.

Hi Gonzalo, Thank you for your feedback, the security desk is operated by a private company, we have no doubt that if the phone was turned in to security they would have given it back. All found items go to the lost and found room, you can always call us with any problem you have during your stay in our apartments and we will try to solve them in the best possible way. Regards.

Damon
2021-12-01T13:33:12-05:00

Room was nice, staff were friendly. My only issues were that the Tiki bar was closed and that something dripped on my car in the underground parking that took me over two hours to remove from my car.

Hi Damon, we are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. The valet service is operated by the building and has an insurance policy if any damage was made to your car, I have contacted the management office in order to address the issue and I understand the issue was resolved. You can always call us with any problem you have during your stay in our apartments and we will try to solve them in the best possible way. Regards.

Antonio
2021-08-23T21:27:36-04:00

Dear Antonio, We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. We remind you that you can always call us with any problem you have during your stay in our apartments and we will try to solve them in the best possible way. We strive to provide an excellent experience to our guests and will continue doing that every day. Hope to host you again in the future!

Craig
2021-04-16T18:07:16-04:00

Room was ok, but check-in was miserable. There has to be some way for guests to park their own cars and unload in a relaxed fashion. 10 am check out is also inconvenient compared to standard 11 am.

Dear Craig, We apologize the check-in process was not satisfactory, the check-in process is being done by the building staff, the apartments offer full valet parking service included in the price of the rental and the check-out time is 10am in order to guarantee the new guests a 3 pm smooth check-in. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future. Thank you

Zainab
2020-06-19T18:39:18-04:00

It was a little difficult getting in touch with room service but other than that, the rooms were nice and the elevators were a bit annoying at first.

Margreth
2021-10-27T17:06:37-04:00

Dear Margareth, We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. We have not heard from you during your stay. We remind you that you can always call us with any problem you have during your stay in our apartments and we will try to solve them in the best possible way. Hope to host you again in the future!

Damian
2021-10-06T17:33:00-04:00

Dear Damian, We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. We strive to provide excellent service to our guests, during your stay you can always call us with any problem and we will try to solve them in the best possible way. Hope to host you again in the future!

Jesus
2022-05-10T17:58:53-04:00

Sofia
2022-03-01T15:21:53-05:00

Halil
2021-11-24T06:49:52-05:00

Hi Halil, we are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. You can always call us with any problem you have during your stay in our apartments and we will try to solve them in the best possible way. Regards.

Rosa
2021-07-08T20:26:53-04:00

The apartments are too old and has strong smell of marihuana

Hi Rosa, we are sorry for any inconvenience you may have had. Our apartments are non-smoking apartments, our company is not the owner of the whole building, we can not control what is being done on other apartments, you could have contacted us with the issue during your stay and we would have resolved it with the security of the building. Thank you